I love reading. There is nothing quite like the joy of losing oneself in a series, of laughing and crying and being swept away by another world entirely, of closing a book knowing that I am more knowledgeable or feel more emotionally content. Be under no illusions, reader, I love reading.

But – and this is me being frightfully, painfully, vulnerably honest – I often don’t like to read…

Whether it be tiredness from work or the distraction of other forms of entertainment (Mrs B and I are partial to a bit of co-operative PS4!), reading simply is not the tonic I choose anywhere near as frequently as I would like.

Am I a fraud? Am I overdue a major re-brand? ‘Mr B Thinks He Should Read More But Doesn’t’ does not have a great ring to it! Hmm.

As a PGCE student a few years ago, I partook in a voluntary assignment (very uncharacteristic of me!) with Teresa Cremin, aiming at promoting reading for pleasure in schools. It was during this project that I first recognised a truth that had eluded me my whole reading life: reading is not only beneficial and enjoyable; it is also profoundly social. As a result of the project, Mr B Reads was born here and over on Twitter and my quandary above was (mostly) solved!

Over the course of 2017 and 2018 I took part in an ongoing Twitter hashtag thread, #52books2017(/18), not only helping me remain disciplined with my reading but also providing a platform to share reading with others. It is no exaggeration to say that this transformed my reading life. My knowledge of children’s literature has increased dramatically, I have ‘met’ a wide range of like-minded #readingteachers and authors (the latter culminating in a free school visit and my class contributing to an excellent children’s book trilogy!) and I enjoyed my most consistent two years of reading since absorbing the Horrible Histories books as a child!

Last year, I logged my reading differently, for a more individual purpose. #OperationBookshelf2019 sought to clear some of my overcrowded bookshelves (if there can be such a thing!) of books that had been patiently waiting to be read for some time. My review of the year blog will be available very soon if you are interested. I would recommend this approach if, like me, you acquire books more quickly than you read them!

Which brings us to the title of this post.

For all its benefits, I found that last year I missed the social element of reading. I will therefore be tagging my reading this year on Twitter using the hashtag #WeRead2020. I encourage you to set yourself a numerical target if it will help you, but certainly to join in and enjoy the reading community regardless. I currently have no plans for this to be a ‘mass movement’, though I will happily create a Goodreads group if enough are interested, but it will hopefully serve others in the same way as I hope it will serve me: to keep you disciplined in your pursuit of reading joy, and to enjoy the journey with others.

2 thoughts on “#WeRead2020

  1. That social aspect is so important to me too, and I suspect to most book bloggers. The sharing of ideas, critiques, observations, the conversations about shared reading or recommendations, the themes extrapolated from novels and non-fiction, the relevance to everyday experiences or the lives of others. And it’s also about the personal joys of reading for its own sake, where we like to read, how we reflect, what genres we go to for comfort or challenges. Great post, and I’ll bear the hashtag in mind.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment